We’re cursed

So… remember the little mishap and the fire in the kitchen?  We had a repeat.  Not once, not twice but 3 times!

m3-001.jpg

 Here is the first repeat…

Jeri cooked dinner.  We ate in the dining room.  We finished.  I needed to unload the dishwasher of now clean dishes, but had an errand to run.  Like a good girl, I brought my plate and class into the kitchen.  I set it on the burner on the stove.  Unbeknownst to me, Jeri neglected to turn off the burner.  When I returned home… melted glass.

Repeat #2

We have a double oven.  One above the range, one below.  When the first fire took place, flames were in the bottom oven.  For not knowing if the coils were ruined, we just started using the top oven instead.  Little thing though.  We use the top oven for storage of pans and my silicone baking pans.  No biggie, I thought.  We just moved them to the lower oven.  So one day AJ decides to have a pizza.  Goes to preheat the oven.  I’m in the back room and I see smoke, thick smoke coming from the kitchen.  We jump up to see and low and behold, he preheated the wrong oven.  The one with the pans, the silicone pans.  Now normally, that’s not a problem.  But it was stuffed full.  So the silicone pans were actually touching the coil in the oven.  Bright orange coil + silicone pans = FIRE!  AJ runs out of the house and jumps a snow bank on his way to Melanie’s to get, yet again, the fire extinguisher.  He beefs it as he lands on ice.  Up he jumps to ring the doorbell. (I don’t know either why he didn’t just walk in) But I digress… 

So as I said, he rings the bell.  Mel hears it from the back room and starts for the door.  On the way, the phone rings.  She picks up the phone on the way to the door and no one is there.  She goes down to answer the door, opens it, no one is there.  She just sees a flash of a white shirt dashing over the snowbank and to our house.  Turns out AJ rang the bell, once.  Since she didn’t answer, he called.  She picked up just as he hung up thinking no one was home.  The flash of white shirt was AJ hi-tailing it back home to help put out the fire with something else.  By then, I’d thrown water on the shooting flames and we just had smoke.  Smoke and ash.  When silicone really burns, it’s a horrible mess of ashes.  My phone then rings with Melanie asking what in the heck was going on at our house.  I’m still chuckling about it as I write this and that was about 2 weeks ago.

So last night…

Repeat #3.

I don’t know why the burner was on…don’t ask.  I don’t know why my husband had the wood cutting board on the stove…don’t ask.  Amanda walks in and says, “smells like a campfire in here”. 

sigh

No, there weren’t technically flames, but the cutting board is now scorched on the other side.  I would show you more pictures, but I’m starting  to think the stove is doing this on purpose for the publicity.

~ by mamadubs on March 6, 2008.

5 Responses to “We’re cursed”

  1. Now why on earth didn’t you mention this last night when we talked. I only knew of the first fire. Bobbie it’s really time you clean out the cupboards and get rid of what you don’t use and save you kitchen. Do I need to send you the kitchen fairy?????????????

  2. YES, I need the kitchen fairy, the house fairy and a revisit from the garage fairy. OH… and once spring gets here, I’ll need the yard fairy. When should I expect you.. ahem… I mean when should I expect THEM?

  3. I need a fairy tooooooo.
    remember how your house was when you remodeled??? Ours is starting to be a mess and the construction guys don’t start for another week..Just my handy hubby with his drill taking down cabinets,doors,trim etc..
    you guys are getting older ya know..the memory fails ya..we know..we are just as old..haha ahem…well a little bit ahead of you. 10 years for the guys.

  4. Ah yes, I remember. A little crazy but at least you have down stairs to hide from the disaray of things. And how awesome it will all look afterwards. Can’t wait to see it. Someday we hope to do something similar in opening up as much as we can get away with. I better start saving my pennies.

  5. AHHHHHHHHH!!! That’s horrible….and hilarious in retrospect I’m sure. Maybe you should just eat take-out for a while =)

Leave a Reply

 
