Bloomsday Run

Well it seems that there is this walk/run called the Bloomsday Walk in Spokane, Washington. People come from all over the world to walk. This is the first year that my Mom participated. I am sure it is the first of many. This walk has been sponsored for the last 30 years. It is an amazingly orchestrated event. Each participant wears an ankle bracelet to track their stats of the day. The walk is 7.56 miles and when you finish, you get the all loved official, “I finished the walk” T-Shirt. One of my personally favorite things to get when participating in an event. The weather was a little cool and windy. Better than a sweltering day, that’s for sure. One of the coolest thing I have seen is that the local news had live coverage of the finish line. Not only did I get to see my Mom cross that line, they also have photos of the finish line in second intervals. So, I have to show off my Mom and her hard work.
Here are my Mom’s personal stats:

Aurora P Prasch
Finish Time: 1:58:10
Overall Place: 21,222 out of 40,585
Ran with a pace of 15:50 per mile
The average pace for 57-year-olds was 15:44
Placed 260th among people the same age
Top 25

Placed 359th among people from Liberty Lake, WA
Top 25

Placed 16,584th among people from the State of Washington
Top 25

Placed 1st among people with the same last name
Top 25

Placed 10,858th among females
Top 25

Placed 101st out of 326 among 57-year-old females
Top 25

Click my Mom’s photo and it takes you to the finish line. Wait for the magnifying glass to load. Look for a purple jacket right at the finish line and wave your mouse over it. You can see her there.
Way to go Mom!

~ by mamadubs on May 7, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
